Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Some Girls...

I played with a fabulous band on New Year's Eve last weekend, and one of the songs we performed was "Miss You" by the Rolling Stones. With that song still fresh in my head, it occurred to me that I haven't spun the album "Some Girls" in quite a while.

I love the artwork on vinyl records. The palette -- nearly a square foot -- is so large, and nearly every band put as much time, thought, and effort into the artwork as they did the music they recorded on it.

One thing I found out today is that there is more than one version of the artwork for "Some Girls." The original artwork had, of course, the Stones in make-up, peeking through an elaborate (and expensive) die-cut sleeve.

But aside from the boys, there were images of Marilyn Monroe, Lucille Ball, Judy Garland, Farrah Fawcett, and Raquel Welch... Apparently, this did not go over well with these woman and they all got together (Liza Minelli for Garland, and Monroe's estate) and threatened legal action against the band.

Not wanting to cause a fuss, the band re-released the album with new artwork with generic women and the words, "PARDON OUR APPEARANCE - COVER UNDER RE-CONSTRUCTION" (the original "404 page?").

Well... lucky me. I happen to own the original version of the artwork.

Musically, it's one of my favorite releases ("Exile on Main Street" and "Sticky Fingers" complete my Stones tri-fecta favs).

I mean, look at the track listing on this gem:

Side one
No. Title Length
1. "Miss You"   4:48
2. "When the Whip Comes Down"   4:20
3. "Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me)" (Norman Whitfield/Barrett Strong) 4:38
4. "Some Girls"   4:36
5. "Lies"   3:11
Side two
No. Title Length
6. "Far Away Eyes"   4:24
7. "Respectable"   3:06
8. "Before They Make Me Run"   3:25
9. "Beast of Burden"   4:25
10. "Shattered"   3:48

No comments: